Whitelees Road, Littleborough, Lancashire, OL15 8DU

01706 378032

St Mary's Roman Catholic Primary

We love God, We love learning, We love each other...

Liturgical Year

The Liturgical Year begins on the First Sunday of Advent and runs through to the Solemnity of Christ the King. 


Liturgical Cycles 

The Lectionary follows a Sunday and Weekday cycle. The Sunday Cycle is 3-yearly and denoted by letters A, B and C. Each year follows through one of the Gospels: A-Matthew, B - Mark, C - Luke. The Gospel of John is proclaimed on particular Sundays in each of the years. Week days in Ordinary Time follow a  2 year cycle numbered I and II. Year I is read in odd numbered years: year II is read in even ones. 


This website informs you of the Liturgical Calendar and which reading it is that day. 

Liturgical Seasons


From evening prayer of the Sunday falling on or closest to the 30th November - The First Sunday of Advent - and ends before evening prayer of Christmas on the 24th December. 

There are 4 Sundays of Advent.  They represent Hope, Love, Joy and Peace. 


Christmas is celebrated from the evening prayer on 24th December to the Baptism of the Lord, which is the Sunday after the Solemnity of the Epiphany. 

Ordinary Time

From the Monday following the Baptism of the Lord to Shrove Tuesday. 


From Ash Wednesday until the Mass of the Lord's Supper on the evening of Holy Thursday. There are 6 Sundays of Lent. Holy week begins on the 6th Sunday of Lent.

Easter Triduum

Begins with the Evening Mass of the Lord's Supper on Holy Thursday and concludes with Evening prayer on Eater Sunday. 

Easter Season

The Easter season begins with a celebration of the Easter Vigil on Easter Sunday and concludes 50 days later with Pentecost Sunday. 

Ordinary Time

From the Monday following Pentecost until the Saturday before the First Sunday of Advent.

Liturgical Colours

There are 4 principle liturgical colours - 

  • Green is used in ordinary time.
  • White is used in the seasons of Easter and Christmas, also on celebrations of the Lord.
  • Red is used on Palm Sunday, the Lords Passion, Good Friday and Pentecost Sunday.
  • Violet is used in the seasons of Advent and Lent.
  • Rose(Pink) can be used on the third Sunday of Advent - Gaudete Sunday - and the fourth Sunday of Lent - Laetare Sunday.